Expand this Topic clickable element to expand a topic
OSA Publishing

The Optical Society (OSA) publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed articles in its portfolio of journals, which serve the full breadth of the optics and photonics community.

The Journal of the Optical Society of America B (JOSA B) is a general optics research journal that complements JOSA A. It emphasizes scientific research on the fundamentals of the interaction of light with matter such as quantum optics, nonlinear optics, and laser physics. Topics include:

  • Advanced Instrumentation and Measurements
  • Fiber Optics and Fiber Lasers
  • Lasers and Other Light Sources from THz to XUV
  • Light-Induced Phenomena
  • Nonlinear and High Field Optics
  • Optical Materials
  • Optics Modes and Structured Light
  • Optomechanics
  • Metamaterials
  • Nanomaterials
  • Photonics and Semiconductor Optics
  • Physical Optics
  • Plasmonics
  • Quantum Optics and Entanglement
  • Quantum Key Distribution
  • Spectroscopy and Atomic or Molecular Optics
  • Superresolution and Advanced Imaging
  • Surface Optics
  • Ultrafast Optical Phenomena
  • Wave Guiding and Optical Confinement

JOSA B considers original research articles, feature issue contributions, invited reviews and comments on published articles.

Submission Information

Is my paper appropriate for Journal of the Optical Society of America B? Read about all OSA journals here.

Please see the Author Resource Center for instructions to prepare and submit a manuscript.


Key Journal Metrics

Impact Factor: 2.048*
Total Citations: 12,830*
Cited Half-Life: 10+ years*
Google Scholar h5-index: 37
Median Time to Web Publication: 97 days

*According to Optics category rankings in the 2017 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2018)
July 2018 Google Scholar Optics & Photonics Top Publications.

For more information on Journal metrics, click here.

Editorial Board

Kurt Busch,
Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany

Deputy Editor
Igor I. Smolyaninov,
University of Maryland, College Park, USA

Topical Editors and Content Areas
Antonio Agnesi, University of Pavia, Italy (Lasers and Laser Materials)
Chik-Ho (Wallace) Choy, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong (Experimental Nano-Optics)
Anton S. Desyatnikov, Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan (Structured Light, Metamaterials, and Plasmonics)
Shengwang Du, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong (Quantum Optics and Quantum Key Distributions)
Ramy El-Ganainy, Michigan Technological University, USA (Quantum Optics)
Janos Hebling, University of Pecs, Hungary (Ultrafast Phenomena)
Stephen Hughes, Queen's University, Canada (Nano-photonics)
Alexandre Kudlinski, University of Lille, France (Fiber Optics and Photonic Bandgap Fibers)
Andrei Lavrinenko, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark (Metamaterials and Plasmonics, Diffraction and Beams)
Qingqing Liang, University of Science and Technology—Shanghai, China (Ultrafast Phenomena)
Xavier Mateos, Rovira i Virgili University, Spain (Lasers and Laser Materials)
Martin McCall, Imperial College London, UK (Meta-Optics and Transformation Optics)
Bing Qi, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA (Quantum Key Distribution)
Cheng-Wei Qiu, National University of Singapore, Singapore (Optical Metamaterials, Plasmonics, and Light-Matter interactions)
Wei Shi, Tianjin University, China (Photonics Waveguides, Fiber Lasers, and Nonlinear Optics)
Andrey Sukhorukov, Australian National University (Numerical Computation in Optics and Photonics)
Dawn Tan, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore (Nonlinear Optics)
Yasuo Tomita, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan (Holography and Diffractive Optics)
Sergei Turitsyn, Aston University, UK (Nonlinear Effects in Optical Fibers)
Alfred U'Ren, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico (Quantum Entanglement Sources and Concepts, Quantum Optics, Nonlinear Phenomena, and Structured Light)
Hong Wei, Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Plasmonics and Nanophotonics)
Yanhong Xiao, Fudan University, China (Experimental Quantum Optics)
Liangliang Zhang, Capital Normal University, China (THz and Ultrafast Optics)


Editorial and Production E-mail Phone
Nicole Williams-Jones, Peer Review Coordinator jbmss@osa.org 202-416-1969
Feature proposals dmcdonold@osa.org
Scott Mullin, Managing Editor smullin@osa.org 202-416-1936
Reprints https://caesar.sheridan.com/osa/eoc
Page charges billing@osa.org

General Information
E-mail Phone
Copyright permission requests copyright@osa.org
Online Journal Technical Support elec@osa.org
Elizabeth Nolan, Chief Publishing Officer
Alison Taylor, Executive Editor
M. Scott Dineen, Senior Director, Publishing Production & Technology
Jennifer Mayfield, Deputy Senior Director, Electronic Publications
Christopher Videll, Director, Production and Technology
Carmelita Washington, Peer Review Manager
Daphne Greenwood, Senior Director of Marketing & Sales, Publishing

Select as filters

    Select Topics Cancel
    © Copyright 2019 | The Optical Society. All Rights Reserved