The Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 ("CLIA 88") established uniform minimum quality standards for all clinical laboratory testing throughout the United States. The intent was to ensure reliability, accuracy and timeless of patient test results regardless of the setting where testing was performed. CLIA '88 requirements will supersede individual state requirements if more stringent. The Federal Government Centers Medicare and Medicaid Services CMS is responsible for implementing and enforcing CLIA, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for test categorization and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) for CLIA research studies.

© 2013 Optical Society of America

PDF Article  |   Presentation Video


You do not have subscription access to this journal. Citation lists with outbound citation links are available to subscribers only. You may subscribe either as an OSA member, or as an authorized user of your institution.

Contact your librarian or system administrator
Login to access OSA Member Subscription

Presentation Video

Videos freely accessible in 2020 and available to subscribers starting in 2021.